Reviews

  • AliciaDavidCatiTim - Sonoma County, CA

    Perfect West Shore Stay!

    Stars: 5

    The photos do not do this wonderful home justice. The Chalet is a luxury rental that makes you feel as if you're staying at a friend's house - a very clean and well-maintained friend's house. Corinne had stocked the house with everything (including freshly-ground Peet's coffee!) we needed and the linens and beds were very comfortable. If you rent in the summer, do yourself a favor and be sure to walk on the lawn barefoot! The 4 of us hiked, ate, biked, beached, hot-tubbed and smiled A LOT! Then each couple retreated to our very private suites for the night. The only negative thing about the trip was the fact that we had to leave.

    • Stayed July 2014
    • Submitted

    Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, Romantic getaway

  • Elizabeth - San Francisco

    Chalet De Huttlinger - Amazing Stay in Tahoe!

    Stars: 5

    Corinne had absolutely everything you could possibly imagine in her beautiful chalet! From gourmet cooking utensils, hot tub, new bbq and super comfy bedding! Her well manicured lawn and patio was a perfect setting for dining al fresco - which we did a lot! Her home is ideal - a short bike ride to Chambers Bar and Landing and even to Sunnyside for a bit longer bike ride on the path. We would definitely recommend her stand-out chalet and will hopefully be back soon!

    • Stayed July 2014
    • Submitted

    Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

  • LV Guest - Las Vegas

    great stay at cozy luxurious chalet

    Stars: 5

    We booked Chalet De Huttlinger very last minute for a birthday/valentines getaway weekend with friends from San Francisco. The location is excellent - clean, luxurious, well appointed, and rooms and amenities were fabulous, we even had a bottle of wine waiting for us. Unfortunately only booked 2 nights. Would have loved to stay longer.

    • Stayed February 2014
    • Submitted
  • drmom - Mountain View

    Fantastic, fully-stocked, convenient get-a-away to Lake Tahoe

    Stars: 5

    We stayed at the Chalet de Huttlinger for MLK weekend with another family. It was a great set up for 2 families with toddlers. We were all impressed at how well stocked the house was. We way overpacked with kitchen and bathroom supplies! They provided basic food items for cooking (including herbs, oils, sugar, flour, etc) and had all the pots/pans/utensils we needed. In addition, the bathroom was well stocked with soaps, shampoos etc. The location was perfect with close access to the Lake and just a few minutes from Homewood and a little further to Squaw. Corinne, the owner, was fantastic! She contacted me on arrival and was responsive to our questions and needs during our stay. We had an issue with the hot tub, and compensated us for our trouble.
    Overall, a great experience and I would highly recommend the Chalet to anyone!

    • Stayed January 2014
    • Submitted

    Recommended for: Families with teenagers, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

  • drew - bay area

    Magnificient!!!

    Stars: 5

    I'm a single guy who needed to get some R&R from the bay area for a few days. I checked into Chalet de Huttlinger expecting a nice, comfortable stay and was absolutely astounded at the magnificient accomodations and top-flight service offered by Corinne. The place was absolutely spotless, the bed more comfortable than my own (need to get the name of that mattress, Corinne), and the combination of nearby restaurants and unparalleled beauty of Lake Tahoe combined to make this stay exceed my expectations. Will definitely be back!!

    • Stayed August 2012
    • Submitted

    Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Sightseeing, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

  • JoAnn T.

    Kid Friendly!

    Stars: 5

    Hi!- I am Joey. I liked staying here. It was like staying in a cabin from a fairy tale. I loved the spa and jacuzzi tub. I rode my scooter on the trails down to the lake. My sister really liked the yard and the comfortable bed. Thank you for letting us stay here. We want to come back here again.

    • Stayed August 2012
    • Submitted

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

  • Michele - Chico

    Amazing!!

    Stars: 5

    My family just stayed at Chalet De Huttlinger for a family wedding in the area. We had an amazing time. The amendities of this Chalet are top notch. Nothing goes unthought of by the very gacious home owner. She ensures your stay is suited perfectly for your group, even goes the extra mile to provide a personal touch for the family coming in. I cannot say enough good things about the Chalet and owner, Corrine. Thank you very much for a wonderful experience.

    • Stayed August 2012
    • Submitted

    Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic getaway

  • Diana B. - Santa Clara, California, USA

    Exactly what I wanted in a vacation rental

    Stars: 5

    I am pretty specific and particular about what I want in a place to stay when away from home. I care about the quality of the linens, furnishing, decor etc. Chalet De Huttlinger met all of my desires with "flying colors"! The minute we walked iin it felt like we were in a friends home, not a strangers rental. It was comfortable and cozy and there were little personal touches that I would expect from a friend, not someone I had never met. This is not your average vacation rental, I would recommend it to anyone. It definitely played a part in the very special 20th anniversary we spent in it.

    • Stayed July 2012
    • Submitted

    Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic getaway

  • David - Napa, CA

    Great Place

    Stars: 5

    We had a great weekend getaway on short notice, booking was fast and easy. Great house with everything we needed, hot tub was awesome! Great location, close to everything and very close to lake. Can't wait to come back.

    • Stayed May 2012
    • Submitted

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic getaway

  • amrittsering - Danville, CA

    Fantastic vacation, beautiful accommodations, very gracious host

    Stars: 5

    We really enjoyed our stay. The owner sent us an email saying that if we would like to stay one additional day it was free of charge, here is the email we sent her...

    Hey Corinne,

    Wow, that is so incredibly thoughtful, you rock!

    We would love to stay, your place is amazing, but I have an early morning board meeting.

    The pride and soul you put into this place really shines through , the details really take the experience to another level, just gorgeous...we had a blast, from jet skis to dinner outside to the wonderful hot tub at night - this was a great trip.

    We will be back and we are so grateful we found you :)

    Regards,

    Amrit

    • Stayed September 2011
    • Submitted

    Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Families with teenagers, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

  • David - Bay Area

    A Jewel At Tahoe

    Stars: 5

    Our experience at Chalet De Huttlinger was absolutely phenomenal. The Chalet is beautifully appointed; extremely comfortable; and in the best part of Old Tahoe. Corrine could not have been more wonderful. I rate our experience as high as any Relais and Chateau that I've stayed.

    • Stayed December 2010
    • Submitted

    Recommended for: Adventure seekers, Families with teenagers, Romantic getaway

  • Homewood-bound - Vacaville, CA

    **Winter Wonderland**

    Stars: 5

    This french inspired chalet was absolutely stunning! We loved it! From the moment we walked in to the moment we had to leave it was dreamy. We were renting a chalet but it felt like a 5 star hotel with all the nice touches. From little things like an extra toothbrush, (in case you forgot yours) spa robes, lovely lotions, fragrances, quality toiletries, down bedding, to surprises like waiting chilled champange and cookies upon our arrival. We could not have asked for a nicer more attentive owner. She even had the property manager send over an extra coffee maker when she learned the other had a crack even though the chalet is equipped with a french press as well as an espresso maker. We love to cook and it seems the owner does as well. The kitchen had great utensils, everything you'd need. The spa was extra soothing after a hard days shoveling, playing and skiing! We do however have one small comment....we wished the chalet had some board games. We left our house so quickly we forgot to bring some and we missed that this time around. Maybe next time. Thank you again Corrine for a wonderful stay. We will surely be back. Can't wait to see it in the summer time.

    • Stayed February 2011
    • Submitted

    Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

  • Geslers - Manteca, California

    Christmas at the Chalet

    Stars: 5

    This property was perfect for six. We had a fabulous time and enjoyed a wonderful white Christmas. Corrine has gone above and beyond keeping the place up to date and it has every imaginable item in stock.
    Corrine even set us up with a snowmobile company for a fun day in the snow.
    We would definately stay again.
    Thank you for the fun memories!!

    • Stayed December 2010
    • Submitted

    Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls getaway, Families with teenagers, Romantic getaway

  • Elizabeth - Modesto CA

    Incredible getaway!

    Stars: 5

    What a treat! We booked the Chalet as a last minute get away for Thanksgiving and we could not have been happier with the experience. The attention to detail that the owner took with our visit was so appreciated, there was nothing we needed other than our toothbrushes (and I would not have been surprised to find those there as well). We expected the quaintness of the chalet based on the photos but we were pleasantly surprised at how roomy the place feels. We enjoyed the comfort and tranquility that the chalet offers and we look forward to another visit!

    • Stayed November 2010
    • Submitted

    Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic getaway

  • Sheila - Martinez

    Relaxing Tahoma Retreat

    Stars: 5

    My husband and I and his sister spread out like kings and queens in this very romantic and thoughtfully adorned mountain home. Every little thing was easy and I could find everything I needed in the kitchen. If you have a headache and forgot an advil - don't fear - there is a supply of emergency items for your use in the medicine cabinet. An easy place with good walks.

    • Stayed October 2010
    • Submitted

    Recommended for: Pet owners, Sightseeing, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

  • Richard - Martinez CA

    Cozy and Elegant Mountain Escape

    Stars: 5

    This cozy and elegant mountain retreat is thoughtfully prepared for your visit and you feel as though someone has given you the key to their private home and said " just make yourself at home - mi casa es ...well you get the idea"...... Comfortable soft and relaxing after a day of skiing ....take a hot tub and then prepare a meal in a wonderfull kitchen. We invite our friends over for dinner and had a relaxing time drinking a bottle of red and sharing our stories.

    • Stayed October 2010
    • Submitted

    Recommended for: Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

  • Cheryll and John - Yuba City, Ca

    Quiet, Carefully Tended Chalet

    Stars: 5

    Our stay at Chalet De Huttlinger surpassed our expectations in every way from the beginning of our experience to the very end. Corinne took care to send us directions and helpful information before we arrived, then had the chalet in pristine condition and filled with amenities too numerous to report. Her thoughtfulness at every turn guaranteed a most pleasant and relaxing visit. We will make up reasons to return again!

    • Stayed August 2010
    • Submitted

    Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, Romantic getaway

  • Sandy - Santa Rosa, CA

    Adorable Chalet

    Stars: 5

    This place is such a gem! It was so cute and cozy -- we felt right at home immediately! The owner took great care in appointments to give it the feel of a great vacation home away from home. Very organized and comfy for 3 of us. The photos depict The Mountain Air unit exactly as it appears and everything was in order and clean to our satisfaction. And the Tahoma location was marvelous, and had easy access to hiking areas and all the spots around the Lake. Tahoe City was just 10-15 minutes away for food/beverage shopping. Would recommend for anyone who wants to stay in a beautiful and classy getaway!

    • Stayed August 2010
    • Submitted

    Recommended for: Girls getaway, Romantic getaway

  • baysidetrail - San Francisco

    Romantic Mountain Getaway

    Stars: 5

    My wife and I had an amazing stay. I planned a romantic getaway for her birthday by searching VRBO. I knew I did well the moment we drove up. The Chalet de Huttlinger is a real gem. The place was really well stocked and filled with lots of nice touches. In fact, I don't think I've ever stayed in a place before where the owner had such a good attention for detail. We'll definitely come again.

    • Stayed July 2010
    • Submitted

    Recommended for: Romantic getaway

  • Anthony P - San Rafael,Ca

    At Chalet De Huttlinger "Relax No Rush" is a REAL BARGAIN!

    Stars: 5

    Is there a catagory above "Superior Accomodation"? Absolutely. It is "Chalet De Huttlinger" -no doubt. Our host Corinne provides the vacationer with a place that rings with perfection (all of our needs are anticipated, all of them!) and Romance- and the already reasonable rate becomes more inviting with her "Relax No Rush" policy. We had an extra day of Fly Fishing and Bicycling and pocketed the savings! Now we are planning out our next visit for the Autumn color change and Fall hatch. Thanks,Corinne!!

    • Stayed July 2010
    • Submitted

    Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, Romantic getaway

  • Richard, Cheri & Robert - Calistoga, CA

    Better than we could ever dream!

    Stars: 5

    Dear Corinne- How can we ever thank you? Words cannot describe how truly beautiful your home is (the pictures on the page cannot come close to the reality!) and the fact that you anticipated our every need was incredible! We were looking for a place to come with friends to escape the rushed pace of life, and you certainly exceeded our dream! From the moment we saw the Chalet, we felt the atmosphere of calm, from the lovely hanging flower boxes to the fountain in the corner of the front lawn. Then entering the Chalet was an amazing experience- you have a gift for decorating with such beauty and yet we felt so comfortable; not an easy combination to attain. We didn't spend as much time sightseeing as we had planned because we didn't want to leave the Chalet! Thank you for giving us a most memorable trip! And now we can't wait to come back!- Cheri

    • Stayed July 2010
    • Submitted

    Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, Romantic getaway

  • Kitten - Antioch

    Cozy vacation for two!

    Stars: 5

    My boyfriend and I booked the Huttlinger Chalet in March for his birthday, the darling place exceeded our expectations from the fully stocked kitchen with only the best to the finest linens and two fireplaces to warm us while it snowed a winter wonderland outside. It was so relaxing we never left the place the entire four days! We hope to be back this summer if not for sure for another winter romantic vacation. Next time we are bringing friends to enjoy the experience with us!
    Blessings Corinne,
    Shari and Mark

    • Stayed March 2010
    • Submitted

    Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic getaway

  • Elaine Elizabeth - San Jose, California, US

    Charming & Cozy!

    Stars: 5

    My boyfriend and I had a wonderful experience during our stay at the Chalet De Huttlinger. The chalet is beautifully decorated and has everything you could possibly need. The kitchen is darling and has all the utensils for preparing a gourmet meal, which we did! Our stay was memorable and we hope to come back.

    • Stayed November 2009
    • Submitted

    Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic getaway

  • Elizabeth and Roberto - Sao Paulo-BRAZIL

    Stars: 5

    Simplesmente perfeito! Adoramos a nossa temporada no Chalet de Huttlinger! Enorme bom gosto e uma atenção para cada detalhe.The place is very well decorated, really comfortable and cozy and Corinne thought of every single detail to please her guests.I really recommend this amazing property! We had to fly 15 hours to get there but it was well worthed.We came home carrying wonderful memories of our lovely stay at Chalet de Huttlinger.Obrigada e até breve!

    • Stayed February 2010
    • Submitted

    Owner response: Chalet de Huttlinger welcomes International guests!

    International guests can have special needs and challenges as you come from far flung areas crossing time zones, geographic and cultural boundaries. Chalet de Huttlinger works to coordinate with you as inbound guest(s) to ensure a comfortable welcome to ease the wear and tear of travel, and to keep the excitement of your holiday and destination to the lake in mind!

    Working with your flight times and arrangements, other transportation coordinates, and ensuring you get to the property easily from your drop off, and anything special you may need upon arrival, or pre-arranged on your behalf - we will take the time and attention to. The last thing you or any traveler needs is to come to a lodging property , especially one that is self owned and managed and not a big named chain that has layers and levels of staff, is to find issues and be disappointed - which is not an uncommon experience.

    At Chalet de Huttlinger we will work to ensure your wonderful guest experience end-to-end; with the initial touch point in the reservation stages through to preparation of the property to your arrival, your stay itself and then departure - through to and a return visit! This is our promise and record.

    Let us help plan your journey - You will love it!

    Corinne Huttlinger
    Host

  • Win R. - Los Altos, CA

    Stars: 5

    We just spent 3 nights in this fabulous chalet over the holidays and wish we could have stayed longer. The accomodations were not only comfortable but quite tastefully decorated - even better than the photos! The place was spotless and no details were spared at making us feel like we were at home including goodies in the fridge and high quality bath products in each bathroom for us to use! Corinne is very responsive to every inquiry and was extremely helpful with suggestions for places to eat, where to buy a decent birthday cake, etc. She really knows how to spoil her guests. We will definitely come back for another visit - hopefully in the not too distant future.

    • Stayed January 2010
    • Submitted
  • Jean34 - Danville, CA

    Stars: 5

    This property is a jewel box! It is elegant while being cosy and inviting. The two suites are separated so that everyone enjoys their own privacay. Too good to pass up.

    • Stayed December 2009
    • Submitted
  • Dianne Hynes - Walnut Creek, Ca.

    Stars: 5

    This is truely the most well appointed an authentic French Chateau on the West Shore. What a great deal has everything and not found a place more sparkling clean. Would rent every time I go.

    • Stayed November 2009
    • Submitted
  • John246 - Walnut Creek, CA

    Stars: 5

    If you want to experience the best of what Tahoe has to offer; staying at the Chalet De Huttlinger is step 1! The facility is uber-delightful, meticulously clean and ownership pride is omni-present. Comfort, class, relaxation and location...it's all present. I will use again, and again. Keep up the great job!!!

    • Stayed October 2009
    • Submitted
  • Elaine40 - San Jose, Ca

    Stars: 5

    Chalet De Huttlinger is too cute for words! This Chalet is both cozy and oh so charming inside and out! One of the many pluses is the Fir Top Suite has it's own entrance which gives a total sense of privacy. There is a darling kitchen to enjoy, beautiful dining area, and a comfortable living room to relax in, plus a jacuzzi! There is much to do on the West Shore such as walking to the lake, bike ride, skiing in winter, shopping nearby and several restaurants to try.

    Chalet de Huttlinger is a wonderful place to stay. Perfect for a romantic vacation or a quiet get-a-away. I would strongly recommend Chalet de Huttlinger to anyone - you won't be disappointed.

    • Stayed October 2009
    • Submitted
  • Michele 6 - Glendale, CA

    Stars: 5

    As a busy professional with limited "down-time" I was immediately impressed with the tranquil setting, charming decor and comfortable ammenities of Chalet de Huttlinger. A great place to relax and unwind after a day of exceptional hiking or cycling on one of the many local trails, touring the lake or shopping. Great local dining or you can enjoy creating and serving your own meals in the beautifully designed Chalet kitchen and dining room. I visited in Fall, which was gorgeous and plan to return with my family to Chalet de Huttlinger to enjoy the other seasons on the magical West Shore!

    • Stayed October 2009
    • Submitted
  • Jim113 - Danville, CA

    Stars: 5

    My wife and I escaped to your awesome Chalet to experience "winter Tahoe", and were immediately impressed. You've created a truly top-notch, world-class getaway, and have thought of just about everything inside. The main house was very warm, very comfortable and very cozy, with a TON of light in the main living areas (which we loved). I took advantage of your incredibly well-equipped kitchen to play "master chef" a couple nights during our stay, but we also enjoyed the short jaunt to some of the excellent restaurants in Tahoe City. We'll be back to visit Tahoe in its other seasons as well (from the POV of Chalet de Huttlinger, of course) and will recommend this getaway to all our friends!

    • Stayed October 2009
    • Submitted
  • Christine90 - Tahoma, Ca

    Stars: 5

    Corinne, what a beautiful retreat you have created. Such high quality, such class, such comfort. I will certainly let my friends and family know the Chalet is THE PLACE to stay on the west shore.

    • Stayed October 2009
    • Submitted
  • Marie43 - Los Gatos, Ca

    Stars: 5

    I'm going to go with 5 stars here. Chalet de Huttlinger is the definition of taste and style meeting mountain elegance. Every room is exquisitely decorated to interior designer standards. Yet you do not lose the feeling of being right at home. There is no detail left untouched. From the moment you pull up to the driveway of the property you will get this sense that much care that has gone into creating an environment of comfort, luxury and ambiance.Both the Fir Top and Mountain Air suites are lovely. Having the additional amenities of a hot tub is an added bonus. There is also access to a private beach and peer within walking distance. There is a private upstairs patio where you can dine, as well as an outdoor patio complete with bubbling fountain. There are also two fireplaces, one in the dining room and one in the living room. If you stay here with another couple, you will each have your own private bedroom and bathroom located in separate quarters with separate entrances. Walking around in the alpine forest of Tahoe's West Shore there is simply no comparison. You have access to chic restaurants nearby but are surrounded by by the peaceful neighborhoods of Tahoe's West Shore. I would stay here again and also recommend it to anyone. The West Shore of Tahoe and the access to area amenities make for a unique and special retreat. I can only say that yes, Tahoe's West Shore is Magical and so is Chalet De Huttlinger.

    • Stayed October 2009
    • Submitted
home

©2012-2014 Chalet de Huttlinger, LLC. Located on Lake Tahoe's Magical West Shore

7219 4th Avenue, Tahoma California 96142, USA